Blueberry Oatmeal

The only oatmeal I’ve ever had has been the little prepackaged stuff that you add water to…I was never a fan. Everyone kept telling me I needed to try eating oatmeal but I just didn’t think I could stomach it. Fast forward to yesterday, I was pre-making my meal plan for today and searching my cabinets, fridge, and freezer for anything I could make that wouldn’t push me over (payday is tomorrow so things are pretty empty right now). A family member had bought some oatmeal to try on my son, who hated it, so I’ve had it sitting my pantry, and I had blueberries in the freezer from the blueberry muffins I never made. So I searched online and found this recipe. O.M.G. this was soooo good, if you’ve never had oatmeal from scratch I REALLY recommend you try it. I’m sure you can make it a lot healthier cutting out some of the sugar, using water instead of milk, etc, because it is really sweet, and of course you can substitute practically any fruit for the blueberries (online favorites are apples, peaches, and strawberries). You can also make it without the fruit, which was also really good (I’ll put the nutritional info for that as well). And heads up this recipe makes 2 bowls, but it doesn’t keep well, so if you’re just making this for you split everything in half, otherwise you’re throwing away half your food.

Serving Size – 1 cup
# of servings – 2
Calories: 455
Carbs: 89
Protein: 13
Fat: 7
Sodium: 271
Fiber: 7

Without blueberries the oatmeal would have been: 396 calories, 73 carbs, 7 fat, 13 protein, 222 sodium, 5 fiber.

Ingredients:
1 3/4 cup 2% milk
1 cup quick cooking oats
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup of packed brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
3/4 cups of fresh or frozen blueberries

Directions:

  1. bring milk to a boil. stir in oatmeal and salt. Cook over medium heat for 1-2 minutes until thickened.
  2. stir in cinnamon and sugar
  3. pour into 2 bowls and top with thawed blueberries

Leave a comment